Five Minute Friday: Limit

Limit.  This week’s prompt at Five Minute Friday.  Writing within the limit of 5 minutes.

Do you have limits?  Or do you even care about limits?  Come share, leave a comment!

 

GO.

I grow up believing that there is always a limit to things.  There’s a limit to what I can say. There’s a limit to how much I can show.  There’s a limit to what I can do.  There’s a limit to how far I can go.  Because you see, my parents belonged to a generation that doesn’t believe in “getting out of your place”.  Socially, financially, emotionally.  The best life is to “know your place in life”, live within your limits and be contented.  I was never told that limits can be pushed and overcome.  Or that limits are sometimes set by ourselves.

It took me many years of life (too many, if you ask me) to realize that limits are only limits if we allow it.  It took me an even longer time to start moving towards my limits, pushing them slowly, painfully.  Oh yes, it can be painful.  It is never a case of an explosive bang and there goes the invisible wall of limitation around me crumbling down into ashes.  It is a tedious process, because the limits are good in disguise and can hide so deep in our beliefs that we don’t even know it is there.  And when we identify it, it can be heart-wrenching to admit that “there – that is my limit”.  It is not easy to push my own limits.  In fact, to even start to want to do it.  A lot of self-talk, self-counselling, and a lot of determination which is not my exactly my niche area.

But there is a limit to our life, isn’t it?  It will end. Someday.  And I want to go beyond whatever limits I think I have.  Or at least try.  Because only then will life be alive.

STOP.

 

4 Comments

  1. Hello there, FMF neighbor. I get this so much>>>> “And when we identify it, it can be heart-wrenching to admit that “there – that is my limit”. I’m in that season…all in that season. Thanks for the reminder that it is okay to admit I have a limit. Blessings to you.

  2. And by testing our limits we can only grow stronger and grow as a person. It is a scary exercise but such a sense of accomplishment is felt when we achieve something that we have tried to do beyond what we see as our limits.
    (Visiting form FMF)

  3. Good post! I especially like the line, “the lists are good in disguise and can hide so deep in our beliefs that we don’t even know it is there.”

  4. Dear Siew,
    I really enjoyed your post. If one is in Christ, then one is part of the most radical, limitless relationships on Earth. To be in Christ, is to walk with God again, as we were supposed to in The Garden. Praying for you today.
    Blessings
    and
    Cheers,
    Your neighbor at 5minfri,
    Leah

Comments are closed.