The Last Letter in 2015

Dear 2015,

Today is 31 December 2015.  The last day of you.

People around the world are remembering and celebrating you in many different ways.  Some will be partying through 12.00am.  Some will be sending you off with fire works and champagne.   Some will be praying for the next you — 2016, to be better and brighter.  Some off the mainstream categories, like me, will be waving goodbye to you in front of a laptop trying to remember what you have given to us (and maybe, what we have given to you).

And I have to admit, the year has been a blur.  Because, as per may past years, I have tried but failed as always to be more focus and more intentional.  Things happen.  Many things happen.  I live through life.  Day after day.  But I don’t stop often enough to appreciate you and what your everyday has given to me.  I intended to.  Really!  But life lives me instead when the mundane day-to-day stuff gushes in like the waves at high tide.  It just knock me off my feet without warning, and the next thing I know, it’s another day.

Don’t get me wrong.  You have been wonderful for me, my dear 2015.  You have me let go of many things — people and places that I held dear in my life.  You have me move forward when there was no map to show the way — or the destination.  You have me made difficult and daring decisions. You have me learn that I didn’t know as much as I thought I knew.  You have me try new things.  Heck, you even have me danced Zumba on stage in front of a few hundred people!  You have me stressed.  You have me proud.  You have me humbled.  You have me stretched.

And I am so so grateful.

Because 2015, you have me understand that letting go means moving on. It means preserving, not losing, the memories.  It means going forward to creating new happenings that will later become memories.  It means taking stock of life.  It means walking further out into the forest of life to see what lies beyond.  It means believing that there is always something better.  It means growing stronger little by little, day by day.

So thank you, thank you, my dear 2015.  You have been all worth it.

In an hour’s time, you will be gone from my life.  Forever.  But I will let you go.  With no tears, no regrets.  Because I know the next you is just round the corner, ready to walk with me through another 365 days of laughter and tears.  I assure you that I will do my utmost to take as much as I can from 2016, and to give back as much as I have.  Just like what we have done with each other.

Farewell, 2015.

Welcome, 2016.

With my greatest love and gratitude,

SIEW

Dated 31 December 2015 @ 11.00pm.

 

 

 

 

2 Comments

  1. We do share same sentiments with this post. I have written a similar letter to 2015. You may visit my blog and check it out. I kinda see like minds here. Cheers. 🙂

  2. Yes, we have to let go of yesterday and face the future with a new intensity towards happiness and success. There is a lot to accomplish. We just have to be prepared.

Comments are closed.