Five Minute Friday : Afraid

Joining Five Minute Friday with Lisa Jo-Baker 

This is a fun activity where one just write for five minutes flat.  Check it out!

Five Minute Friday

GO

Laptop screen in front of me, fingers on the keyboard, thoughts flying wildly in the mind. Yet again, I hesitate. Not daring to let my fingers translate my thoughts into words.

You see, I’m afraid.

Afraid that the words will betray those emotions deep in me.
Afraid that the words will reveal the weaknesses that I so want to hide.
Afraid that the words will tell the truths that I’m not even aware of myself.

Afraid that others will come to realize that I’m not as strong as they think I am.
Afraid that others will come to know that I’m not as capable as they think I am.
Afraid that others will come to see that I’m not as contented as they think I am.

Yet maybe, just for once, I should let my fingers move. Just for once, I should try not to be afraid.

STOP

6 Comments

  1. Siew, I relate so much to your writing about the fear in writing. I love your honesty and encourage you to keep letting those fingers fly with the thoughts that are placed on your heart! -Heather

  2. This is what I like to call the fear of being exposed. I find when I do let the fingers fly, I’m often shocked at what I read. It is a hard thing to put yourself out there of every random person out there to see. This is such a great place to let those thoughts fly onto the screen. I have a feeling most people can completely relate to these words. Thank you so much for honestly sharing these fears. Bless you!

  3. I echo these thoughts! And it is exactly why I couldn’t bring myself to write on ‘Afraid’ this week. I usually so enjoy FMF, but I just couldn’t bring myself to do it this week. Kudos to you for being brave : )

  4. I am not a writer and I hardly write. But I will just do it – the things that I like or will like to do, so that when I look back, I know my life is not full of regrets.

Comments are closed.