Today, I’m Not Running

“The knowledge and power to succeed resides within me.” – Unknown

I need to believe in this. Today.

Again, I’m feeling like I have not done a good job. I feel like a loser. I feel like quitting – running away, as is always my natural tendency.

Yet, I’m not. I refuse to.

Because I can’t.

How else can I tell my children to “just stand up” every time they fall down? How else can I hope that they will be strong enough to face whatever challenges that may come their way in many years to come? How else can I expect them to believe me when I tell them “You must believe in yourself.”?

I can’t teach them to be all these. I can only show them.

For me, this is a difficult and painful process. I don’t naturally see the cup as half full. I fret. I worry. I imagine the worst. When life throws me a stone, I get angry. I get doubtful. I get cold feet.

But I’m trying hard.

“There is no failure except in no longer trying.” – Elbert Hubbard

Today, I’m not running.

