I Am Living In Heaven

A friend told me this real life story yesterday.

Her friend, only in her 40s, was diagnosed with Parkinson’s disease some time back. Parkinson’s is a cruel disease. I know, because my own father is suffering from it. It is incurable — one eventually loses control of the limbs and even speech ability. Yet, it is not life threatening, which to me makes it even harder to accept because it means there is no escape from the suffering.

And just like how soap operas go, this woman was recently diagnosed with stage 2 breast cancer. She has undergone surgery and chemotherapy and is recovering, but imagine the physical and emotional sufferings she had to endure. To make life more miserable, her two teenage girls are not exactly behaving. They mix with undesirable friends and spent their time looking for fun.

My first thought after hearing this account was: what would I do if I was this woman? Seriously, I don’t think I have the courage to live on and go through such a life.

Hearing stories like these just force me to put things into perspective. Yes, my children mis-behave sometimes (OK, most of the times). I can’t afford a big interior-designed house. Overseas holidays are luxuries that I have to save hard before I can have it. Work is not a bed of roses. Things don’t always go the way I want it to go. But compared to that woman, I am already living in heaven.

