Are You Ready For That Strike of Lightning?

About a week ago, the Straits Times reported that a man while driving his car was killed instantaneously by a fallen tree. There has been several rounds of flash floods here recently, and apparently the tree was weakened by the incessant downpour.

When I saw the news, I was struck (pardon the pun) dumbfounded. Not because I couldn’t believe the news, but because on the day of that accident, I was driving in the rain and had stopped at the traffic junction watching those huge rain trees beside my car (and me) thinking to myself : what if this tree is to suddenly fall on my car? will I even have a chance?

The moment I saw the news, I asked myself: what if it was me?

Would I have regretted that I didn’t tell my hubby and my children that I love them? Would I have regretted that I didn’t get up early enough to send my girls to school that morning? Would they have regretted that they threw a tantrum before they left for school?

Would it matter anymore that my children mess up the table while eating? Would it matter anymore that I did not stay in a nice private apartment? Would it matter anymore that I did not have that LV bag? 

What would I have done differently? How about you?  Are you living your life in such a way that you are always ready for that strike of lightning?

